The Great Gatsby (1925) by F. Scott Fitzgerald

★★★★☆ 4/5

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

After the war, the mysterious Jay Gatsby, a self-made millionaire pursues wealth, riches and the lady he lost to another man with stoic determination. When Gatsby finally does reunite with Daisy Buchanan, tragic events are set in motion. Told through the eyes of his detached and omnipresent neighbor and friend, Nick Carraway, Fitzgerald’s succinct and powerful prose hints at the destruction and tragedy that awaits. – Goodreads

 


Classics / Fiction / <200 pages / Can be read in a day

You have probably seen this book all over your social feeds, and the hype is well deserved. I loved the story and I loved the writing. However, I could not give it 5 stars because I found the ending happened so quickly.

I wish I had read this long before now, it is a great read and I will definitely be reading more of his work.

The main story is clear and interesting, however I found I need to re-read it to understand more of the relationships and personal conflicts occurring in this book. I was so interested in Gatsby I ignored Nick and I would like to try again in order to understand him.

"'I'm glad it's a girl. And I hope she'll be a fool- that's the best thing a girl can be 
in this world, a beautiful little fool.'"
Leave a Reply

